From the

Official News Magazine of the Diocese of Spokane

Deacon Eric Meisfjord, Editor
P.O. Box 48, Spokane WA 99210
(509) 358-7340; FAX: (509) 358-7302

Gonzaga Prep students earn scholastic recognition, scholarships

the Inland Register

(From the Nov. 15, 2001 edition of the Inland Register)

Students at Gonzaga Prep, Spokane, have been busy achieving high academic achievement in a number of venues.

Gonzaga Preparatory School Principal Al Falkner recently announced that Jillian Bybee, Oliver Huslid, Mary Kries, Brendan O’Melveny, Zachary Pierce, Brian Reyes, Kristina Thorne, and Lauren Zeck are 2002 National Merit Scholarship Program Commended Students.

The eight seniors placed in the top five percent of the more than 1.2 million students who took the 2000 PSAT.

Parents of the students are Richard Bybee and Terrie Huckaba, Oddvar and Rae Huslid, Douglas and Shelia Kries, Gerald and Maureen O’Melveny, Michael and Mary Jane Pierce, Carlos and Ann Reyes, Donald and Sharyn Thorne, and William and Una Zeck.

Six Gonzaga Prep seniors were named semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Program.

The six are James Bowles, Thomas Feulner, Kathleen Gillum, Thomas Kucera, Victor McFarland, and Matthieu Pierce.

They are among 16,000 students who qualified as semifinalists from the more than 1.2 million students in some 20,000 U.S. high schools who took the 2000 Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test. The highest-scoring students in each state are designated semifinalists. These students represent less than one percent of each state’s high school graduating class.

Semifinalists have an opportunity to continue in the competition for approximately 8,000 Merit Scholarship awards, worth over $32 million, to be offered next spring.

Parents of the students are Jim and Sylvia Bowles, Bob and Sue Feulner, Michael and Ann Gillum, John and Gayle Kucera, Robert and Barbara McFarland, and Michael and Mary Jane Pierce.

Brian Reyes, son of J. Carlos and Ann Reyes, received the designation of Scholar in the National Hispanic Recognition Program.

Reyes is one of approximately 4,200 students to be recognized as a Scholar or Honorable mention from the more than 200,000 qualified students.

The National Hispanic Recognition Program is a college board program that provides national recognition of the exceptional academic achievements of Hispanic high school seniors. Students enter the program by taking the Preliminary Scholastic Aptitude Test/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test as high school juniors.

Twenty-one Gonzaga Prep students have received scholarships for the 2001-02 school year.

Nine of the students received tuition scholarships for the first time. Here is a list of those students, their parents, and the scholarship the student received:

Students receiving scholarships for the first time, their parents, and scholarships awarded are:

Rebecca Anderson (Luke and Connie Anderson), Ray “Doc” Mauro Memorial Scholarship.

Krista Frankovic (Pat and Patty Frankovic), Knights of Columbus Scholarship.

Emily Giese (Donald and Nancy Giese), Garco Construction Company Scholarship.

Sarah Glass (Dennis and Laura Glass), Lilian Hagmann Memorial Scholarship.

Phil Lenoue (Philip and Mary Lenoue), Coach Bill Frazier Memorial Scholarship.

Joseph Longworth (Tony and Cathy Longworth), Father William N. Bischoff SJ Memorial Scholarship.

Jack Mountjoy (Bruce and Carol Ann Mountjoy), Music Scholarship.

Kayleen Severino (Carmen and Teresa Severino), Charlotte Y. Martin Memorial Scholarship.

Marc Whipple (Michael and Pete Whipple), Knights of Columbus Scholarship.

An additional 12 students had their scholarships renewed. Those students, their parents, and the scholarship received, are as follows:

Katrina Bekessy (George and Melanie Bekessy), James Herlihy Memorial Scholarship.

Adam Benham (Garth and Joanne Benham), Christopher M. West Memorial Scholarship.

Katherine Coyle (Mike and Christy Coyle), Loraine Nichols Memorial Scholarship.

Tom Feulner (Bob and Sue Feulner), Johnston-Hanson Foundation Scholarship.

Megan Lee (Bob and Rhonna Lee), Father Bill Bichsel SJ Native American Scholarship.

Katie Magee (Denise Ma-gee), Robert and Mildred Fees Memorial Scholarship.

Stephanie Malmoe (Richard and Gloria Malmoe), Christopher M. West Memorial Scholarship.

Ryan Mountjoy (Bruce and Carol Ann Mountjoy), Christopher M. West Memorial Scholarship.

Katie O’Brien (James and Colleen O’Brien), James Kennit Rudolf Scholarship.

Matthieu Pierce (Michael and Mary Jane Pierce), Johnston-Hanson Foundation Scholarship.

Brian Reyes (J. Carlos and Ann Reyes), Father Robert Goebel SJ Alumni Scholarship.

Rikki Vallance (Richard and Carrie Vallance), Father Robert Goebel SJ Alumni Scholarship.

Inland Register archives

© The Roman Catholic Diocese of Spokane. All Rights Reserved