Catholic Diocese of Spokane, Washington

From the

Official News Magazine of the Diocese of Spokane

Deacon Eric Meisfjord, Editor
P.O. Box 48, Spokane WA 99210
(509) 358-7340; FAX: (509) 358-7302

Seven men ordained deacons June 24 at Cathedral

Story and photos by Deacon Eric Meisfjord, Editor, Inland Register

(From the July 7, 2005 edition of the Inland Register)

Bishop William Skylstad ordained seven men to the diaconate the evening of Friday, June 24, at the Cathedral of Our Lady of Lourdes.

The seven newest deacons are Douglas Banks, Scott Brockway, Michael Miller, Rod Popiel, Joseph Schroeder, Ed Schafer, and Gary Veale.

Their classmate, Deacon James Barrow, was ordained to the diaconate May 29 at St. Patrick Church, Walla Walla (IR 6/9/05).

The previous class of deacons was ordained June 24, 1999, also at the Cathedral.

Earlier this year the men completed a four-year formation program that included aspects of Scripture, theology, spirituality, pastoral care, social justice, and homiletics.

All have been assigned to a parish: Deacon Banks, St. Thomas More, Spokane; Deacon Barrow, St. Patrick, Walla Walla; Deacon Brockway, St. Augustine, Spokane; Deacon Miller, St. Mary, Spokane Valley; Deacon Popiel, Sacred Heart, Spokane; Deacon Schroeder, St. Joseph, Colbert; Deacon Schafer, the Cathedral of Our Lady of Lourdes, Spokane; and Deacon Veale, St. Francis Xavier, Spokane.

Deacon James Barrow proclaims the Gospel.

Edward Schafer kneels before Bishop Skylstad as Deacons James Barrow and John Byrne look on.

Deacon Alvin Toulou congratulates Deacon Rod Popiel.

The seven men to be ordained are prostrate before the bishop as the community sings the Litany of the Saints.

Leah Brockway vests her husband, Deacon Scott Brockway.

Bishop Skylstad imposes hands on Joseph Schroeder.

Deacons Gary Veale and Edward Schafer minister at the altar.

Inland Register archives

Home | Bishop | Communications | Parishes | Catholic Charities

The Catholic Diocese of Spokane. All Rights Reserved