Catholic Diocese of Spokane, Washington

From the

Official News Magazine of the Diocese of Spokane

Deacon Eric Meisfjord, Editor
P.O. Box 48, Spokane WA 99210
(509) 358-7340; FAX: (509) 358-7302

Foundation established for Morning Star Boys’ Ranch

the Inland Register

(From the Aug. 3, 2006 edition of the Inland Register)

The new Morning Star Boys’ Ranch Foundation Board of Directors: seated, from left: Suzy Dix, vice president; William D. Hyslop, president; and Robert L. Morgan, secretary-treasurer. Standing, from left: Deacon Scott D. Brockway; Dan Kuhlmann, Ranch acting director; J. Robert Durgan, Ranch board president; Dr. James F. Quigley, foundation and Ranch board member; and Terry Kelly, legal counsel. Foundation board members not pictured are James F. Etter, Mark Perko and Noel A. “Sam” Thoen. (IR photo courtesy of Morning Star Boys’ Ranch)

Morning Star Boys’ Ranch will receive much-appreciated support from a new source: the new Morning Star Boys’ Ranch Foundation.

In its articles of incorporation, the Foundation’s sole purpose is defined as the support of the mission of Morning Star. Its primary tasks are to stimulate gifts from the community, preserve and manage assets, and provide income for the Ranch. It will significantly augment the Ranch’s potential to raise needed funds and at the same time provide a legal entity assuring donors of maximum security for their gifts.

The new members met for the first time on May 5, when they elected officers and signed documents legally establishing the Foundation.

Long-time Morning Star Board of Directors member E. “Corky” Braune presented a generous $10,000 initial gift to the Foundation. He said the “seed money” was “in gratitude for the incredible friendship shown by Father Joe to Mr. and Mrs. Solly Miller and their daughter, Darlene Miller Braune.”

Father Joseph Weitensteiner, 74, was Morning Star’s first counselor in 1957. and after ordination to the priesthood in 1966 he was assigned as MSBR director by the late Bishop Bernard J. Topel, a position he held until his retirement May 1, 2006.

The founding members of the Foundation Board are Deacon Scott D. Brockway, an investment representative with Edward Jones; Suzy Dix, residential and acreage specialist with Windermere Real Estate; James F. Etter, retired businessman and former owner of Inland Asphalt;William D. Hyslop, an attorney with Lukis & Annis, P.S.; Robert L. Morgan, retired vice president of sales for Solomon Smith Barney; and Dr. James F. Quigley, a retired dentist.

In the election of officers, Hyslop was elected president; Dix, vice president; and Morgan secretary-treasurer. Under the guidance of Terry Kelly, attorney, the group filed organizational documents with the state as well as paperwork establishing it as an independent non-profit organization under federal law.

At the board’s second meeting on May 31, two new directors were added: Noel A. “Sam” Thoen, a Spokane businessman, and Mark Perko, senior vice president of Washington Trust Bank’s Spokane Commercial Banking division.

Inland Register archives

Home | Bishop | Communications | Parishes | Catholic Charities

© The Catholic Diocese of Spokane. All Rights Reserved