Catholic Diocese of Spokane, Washington

From the

Official News Magazine of the Diocese of Spokane

Deacon Eric Meisfjord, Editor
P.O. Box 48, Spokane WA 99210
(509) 358-7340; FAX: (509) 358-7302

Compiled by Father Tom Caswell, for the Inland Register

(From the Sept. 30, 2010 edition of the Inland Register)

From the Inland Register
Volume 19, No. 9
50 Years Ago: Oct. 7, 1960

“The Charity of Christ Urges Us” will be the theme of the 1960 convention of the Diocesan Council of Catholic Women at Walla Walla Tuesday, Oct. 11.

The convention will start with Mass at 9 a.m. at St.Patrick Parish, Walla Walla, followed by reports from the following: Mrs. William Beaver, treasurer; Mrs. Florence Woolson, historian, Mrs. T.E. Kelly, corresponding secretary; Mrs. Lyle Omsted, executive secretary; Mrs. Grant Gustafson, Mrs. T.M. Swindal, Mrs. Joseph Roth and Mrs. Robert G Rawson, first, second, third, and fourth vice presidents, respectively.

With Mrs. Sam Grant, president, presiding, Mrs. Paul Symbol will welcome delegates to the convention, with Mrs. Joseph Roth, Spokane Deanery president, giving the responses. Mrs. Elmer Heitstuman, secretary, will read the minutes.

Bishop Topel will be the convention’s honorary chairman. MO< Standing committee chairmen reporting, and their topics, will be Mrs. John J. McCormick, spiritual development; Mrs. Michael A. Herres, co-operating with CCD; Mrs. Edwin Chadek, co-operating with Catholic Charities; Mrs. Jack McLaughlin, National Catholic Community Service; Mrs. Francis Pautler, public relations, Mrs. Lee Cunningham, youth; Mrs. James Savage, home and school; Mrs. Paul Symbol, missionary; Mrs. Arthur Kleveno, library and literature; Mrs. E.W. Keating, civil defense; Mrs. Marcel Oriard, rosary film; Mrs. Edwin Anderson, Study clubs; Miss Anantha Oriard, legislation; Mrs. E.C. Sawyer, foreign relief; Mrs. John Morrison, organization and development; Mrs. Lyle Omsted, immigration.

Mrs. William Beaver will report on the registration committee; Mrs. Lyle Omsted, executive secretary, will introduce 20 incoming delegates; and Monsignor Hugo Pautler and Mrs. James Savage will conduct the installation ceremony.

The 12:30 o’clock luncheon at the Marcus Whitman Hotel will feature guest speakers Henry Delaney, diocesan president of the St. Vincent de Paul Society, and Brother Martin Gaines of Spokane’s House of Charity. Miss Mildred Davis, Grand Regent, Court St. Cecelia, Catholic Daughters, will preside.

Afternoon convention schedule, beginning at 2 p.m., includes a report of the resolutions committee by chairman, Mrs. T.B. Kelly. Mrs. Frank Gustafson, Walla Walla chancery president, will preside.

Three afternoon workshops will be “Personal service at the neighborhood level,” leader, Mrs. William Mahar, president of parish volunteers; “Recruiting Foster homes at the parish level,” leader, Mary Lynn Llewellyn, caseworker, Cathlic Charities; “Befriending the aged at the parish level,” leader, Mrs. Florence Hansen, casework supervisor, Catholic Charities, Spokane.

Bishop Topel will deliver the closing remarks.

Host Deanery

Although Mrs. Sam Grant made most arrangements for the convention, she was called out of town. Mrs. Frank Gustafson, Walla Walla Deanery president, and the host deanery, completed arrangements for the hotel and luncheon.

Mrs. Edwin Chadek is program chairman and Miss Louise Lyons is housing chairman. Mrs. Paul Symbol is official hostess and will be assisted by the following women: Mrs. Clymore Thomas, Prescott; Mrs. C. Hermanns, Prescott; Mrs. W. Dahmen, Uniontown; Mrs. Mel Butice, Walla Walla; Mrs. Roy Little and Miss Rosalee O’Hara, Walla Walla.

Mrs. Ruth Loney and Mrs. Earl Cockran are in charge of the table decorations for the luncheon.


Reservations for the luncheon must be in by today (Oct. 7) and can be sent through parish council presidents. Mrs. Edward Hickey is chairman of the reservations.

After the morning Mass, the Walla Walla Deanery will serve coffee and rolls at the hotel.

From the Inland Register
Volume 43 – No. 7
25 Years Ago: Oct. 3, 1985

Two Make Profession

Two former students of Mater Cleri Seminary (now Bishop Topel Center) made vows as Benedictine monks of Mount Angel Abbey in St. Benedict, Ore.

Brother Claude (Dan) Lane and Brother Nathan (Gary) Zodrow vowed a lifetime of commitment to the monastic life in the presence of Right Rev. Bonaventure Zerr OSB, Abbot of the monastery.

Brother Claude, 32, was baptized in Spokane and attended St. John Vianney School. He became a novice at Mount Angel Abbey in 1973 and made his first profession in 1974.

He holds a bachelor’s degree from Mount Angel Seminary and is continuing his theological studies.

Brother Nathan, 33, was baptized in Chewelah and was graduated from the parish school there in 1966. He attended Gonzaga University for two years before entering Mount Angel Abbey. He was graduated from Mount Angel Seminary with a Bachelor of Arts degree in 1976. He too is now enrolled in the seminary’s theology program.

(Father Caswell is the diocese’s Ecumenical Relations Officer and archivist for the Inland Register, and a frequent contributor to this publication.)

Inland Register archives

Home | Bishop | Communications | Parishes | Catholic Charities

© The Catholic Diocese of Spokane. All Rights Reserved